What Does God Hear?

Posted on

It was a pretty typical Sunday in church. During worship of the second service I walked out from the sanctuary for a moment. While walking through the hallway I heard the crying, more like screaming, of a baby from the nursery.

It was then that I asked the question. God what are you listening to right now? The beautiful worship music or the screaming of a child. Please indulge me for a moment as I am fully aware God is omnipresent and can actually do both quite easily.

I stopped in the hall for a moment listening to both the sound of worship and the sound of cries coming from the nursery. The sounds coming from the sanctuary were expressions of love. The sounds coming from the nursery were sounds indicating pain. I stood motionless in the hallway, both sounds demanding a listening ear.

What does God hear?

Is it the Sunday sound of worship that God listens to or the cries coming from a meth house in the Midwest? Is it the sound of church music or the sound of tears from the brothel in India? Is God’s ear tuned to the instruments and voices of the newest worship song or the sirens screaming toward another drive by shooting?

Truth be told we know He is able to listen not just to the worship service but also the cries of people coming from all over the world…all at the same time.

I can’t imagine what God feels on Sunday. Joy and pain, all at once.

So it is that I find myself once again asking God to give me a heart for the lost. Eyes to see the needs around me. Ears to hear more than the beautiful music but also hear the cries of those in pain.

I’d love to hear what you are listening to today?

Leave a Reply

