Why I Don’t Like My Prayer Life

Posted on Updated on

A few years ago I was able to go to Israel. One of our stops included the Garden of Gethsemane. The place where Jesus prayed, prior to His death on the cross. Looking back on this…

I discovered something about myself through my own prayer life.

I don’t like the way I pray. Why? Because it reveals so much about who I am, who I’ve yet to become and what’s in my heart. I found, through my prayers, that I’m pretty selfish.

I guess I’ve known this for some time, as I’ve often prayed, “help me not to be so selfish.” However, even in that prayer it reveals my selfishness. I hate to admit this but my prayer life has become about me.

I don’t know how long this has been going on and I guess it doesn’t matter. What does matter is turning the corner on this, and soon. So beginning today my prayers will be less about me and more about others.

This morning several prayers were offered up for extended family members and friends. My speaking with God included other nations and my own community. Prayers for another pastor and his wife were uttered as well as a couple facing a major surgery.

My pastor and his wife were included as well. God heard me offer up prayers for my wife, kids (who aren’t kids anymore) and grandkids. My final words came in the form of gratitude for all God has done in and through me and for others.

Perhaps moving from ‘I’ centered prayers to ‘other’ centered prayers is an answer to my selfishness, greed, lusts, pride,…well the list continues.

So here goes…how can I pray for you?

2 thoughts on “Why I Don’t Like My Prayer Life

    sassierinjeans said:
    August 5, 2016 at 4:18 pm

    This is a struggle of many, I would think. My prayers were very self-centered – only including myself (patience and love), my children (peace, protection, love, and prosperity), and my fiancee (a host of things, lol). Unfortunately (or not), it took a friend’s unfortunate diagnosis to show me that my prayers were selfish. Sometimes I still am; your post was a beautiful reminder. Thank you.

      rodwhitlock responded:
      August 5, 2016 at 4:41 pm

      Appreciate your vulnerability. Praying for you today.

Leave a Reply

